The Open Group Credentials

Credentials are an addition to The Open Group Certification program for small amounts of learning (3 hours upwards). They lead to the award of an Open Badge. Credentials are being developed for a number of topic areas. Initially, knowledge-based credentials are being developed. In the future, it will be possible to build certifications from related sets of credentials.

There are currently two credential types:

  • Refreshed Knowledge (e.g., TOGAF Essentials 2018)
  • Specializations (e.g., TOGAF Business Architecture Level 1)

TOGAF® Essentials 2018

This is a Refreshed Knowledge credential. It demonstrates that TOGAF knowedge is up-to-date. It is required for all trainers of accredited TOGAF 9 Training Courses.

Individuals who achieved TOGAF 9 Certification against either version 9 or 9.1 can update their knowledge to 9.2 with the TOGAF Essentials 2018 credential - a 3-hour refresher. This credential leads to an Open Badge to indicate that an individual has knowledge and understanding of the changes introduced to the TOGAF Body of Knowledge in 2018, including the TOGAF Standard, Version 9.2 and the TOGAF Library. 
(More information)

TOGAF® Business Architecture Level 1

This is a specialization credential. It demonstrates knowledge and understanding of Business Modeling, Business Capabilities, Business Scenarios, Information Mapping, and Value Streams and how to apply them in development of a Business Architecture based on the TOGAF Standard, Version 9.2. This credential leads to an Open Badge.
(More information)

The Open Group Platinum Members