Digital Enterprise

The Portfolio of Digital Open Standards

What is the Portfolio of Digital Open Standards?

Principles for Digital Open Standards

Enterprises are not static and Digital Transformation has accelerated this trend. Navigating changes in size and structure is a major challenge for not only management as they implement these changes in an evolving enterprise, but also for their employees that are facing restructuring and re-skilling as a result of re-orientation towards digital value delivery.

Therefore, the standards adopted within the Portfolio of Digital Open Standards need to:

  • Have a digital business model
  • Present consistent and self-supporting guidance to the market
  • Be coherent, and be seen to be coherent
  • Use an agile product management approach
  • Provide an explicit emergence model
  • Provide guidance on how to navigate scaling boundaries in both directions
  • Adopt a lean approach
  • Tune in to and respond to the needs and feedback of the practitioner
  • Provide a continuum of digital certifications based on stakeholder roles
  • Provide a path for existing practitioners

Download "Principles for Open Digital Standards" here

A Playbook for the Digital Entrepreneur

The Turning Point: A Novel about Agile Architects Building a Digital Foundation

This novel engagingly highlights five open digital standards of The Open Group, illustrating how and when to use these Standards together to support a digital transformation.

"The Turning Point is a very refreshing novel on the architectural challenges of digital transformations and how to tackle them. Written by three enterprise architecture veterans, the book highlights not only the technological, but also the organizational legacy that continues to plague established companies around the globe. Fun and insightful!"
- Martin Mocker, co-author, "Designed for Digital: How to Architect Your Business for Sustained Success"

Members of The Open Group can download a free PDF copy here, or a print copy can be purchased here.

The Digital Practitioner Body of Knowledge™ Standard

Open Agile Architecture™ – A Standard of The Open Group

The digital enterprise is shaped by people who work in the context of an enterprise’s organization and culture. People working within organizational entities formulate and implement strategy, design business and operating models, and develop and run products and services.

The Open Agile Architecture™ Standard takes an outcome-based, product-centered approach to enable enterprises to respond to customer needs in a nimble and agile manner.

Find out more

The IT4IT™ Reference Architecture

The TOGAF® Standard

The TOGAF® Standard is a proven Enterprise Architecture methodology and framework used by the world’s leading organizations to improve business efficiency, and enable Digital Transformation.

 is the most prominent and reliable Enterprise Architecture standard, ensuring consistent standards, methods, and communication among Enterprise Architecture professionals. Those professionals who are fluent in the TOGAF approach enjoy greater industry credibility, job effectiveness, and career opportunities. This approach helps practitioners avoid being locked into proprietary methods, utilize resources more efficiently and effectively, and realize a greater return on investment.

Find out more


Here is a sample of just some of the publications The Open Group has created in support of The Portfolio of Digital Open Standards. Full versions and more can be found in The Open Group Library, here.



The Open Professions Program

The program requires applicants to demonstrate skills and experience against a set of conformance requirements, which are broken down into five separate milestones, through written applications and peer reviews. The milestone approach allows a candidate to better manage the time required to make each application, and also allows them to evidence value sooner.

As parts of The Open Group Open Professions Program, both Open Certified Architect and Open Certified Data Scientist;

  • Provide a career framework with certification already used and recognized by world-leading organizations
  • Provide an objective, reliable measure of your capabilities and qualifications
  • Have no examination requirement as they are assessment-based, focusing entirely on experience

Certification is assessed at three levels — Certified, Master Certified, and Distinguished.


Open Certified Architect (Open CA)

Open Certified Architect (Open CA) is an independent global certification program for qualifying the skills, knowledge, and experience of Digital, Business, Enterprise, and Solution Architects.


Open Certified Data Scientist (Open CDS)

The Open Group Certified Data Scientist (Open CDS) program has been developed out of a requirement to verify that Data Scientist professionals have the qualities and capabilities required to produce effective analysis of data for the overall improvement of the business.


The Open Group Platinum Members