Skip to main content
Enterprise Architecture

The Enterprise Architecture Team's challenges

Every Enterprise Architecture team delivers support for selecting the most effective improvement and guiding the resulting change. To deliver, every Enterprise Architecture team faces the same three challenges:

1. How to configure their Enterprise Architecture team

2. How to configure their method of developing Enterprise Architecture

3. How they document their enterprise’s architecture. The TOGAF Standard provides the common concepts, structure, and enduring best practice to help Enterprise Architects deliver.

Every organization is distinct. It has a unique structure and place in an ecosystem. The TOGAF Standard is used by small, medium, and large commercial businesses, as well as government departments, non-government public organizations, and defense agencies. The TOGAF Standard, 10th Edition is designed for the dichotomy of common universal concepts and variable detailed configuration. This version of the standard aligns enduring stable concepts, proven practice, and new emerging ideas.  

Go beyond exam-based knowledge with The Open Group experience-based certifications, the Open Professions program.

Applied Practitioner

The TOGAF Standard provides the common concepts, structure, and enduring best practice to help Enterprise Architects deliver. Certifications covering 2 and 3 are TOGAF® Enterprise Architecture Foundation and TOGAF® Enterprise Architecture Practitioner. The Applied Practitioner Open Badge is awarded to individuals who pass their exams and have satisfactorily completed the TOGAF Enterprise Architecture Practitioner Learning Studies.

EA Leader

The TOGAF® Enterprise Architecture Leader certification credential leads to an understanding of best practices and techniques for standing-up and enhancing an enterprise’s Enterprise Architecture Capability following a path through the TOGAF Architecture Development Method (ADM).

Open Agile Architecture™ Standard

The Open Agile Architecture™ Standard in support of a Dual Transformation to enable the creation of business value. The digital enterprise is shaped by people who work in the context of an enterprise’s organization and culture that needs to evolve toward agility at scale. The Agile enterprise senses changes in its environment early and acts upon them decisively and rapidly. The Agile Transformation of the enterprise must address the organizational and cultural dimensions of the transformation agenda. Agile teams drive the enterprise’s Digital Transformation by inventing new business models, delivering superior customer experience, developing digital products, and architecting highly-automated operating systems.

The Benefits of the Open Agile Architecture standard and Open Agile Architecture™ Practitioner Certification:

  • An ability to deliver Agile Architecture in support of Digital Transformation
  • An understanding of the importance of architecture when deploying Agile at scale
  • An ability to apply best practices and techniques for architecting with agility
The Open Group ArchiMate® standard

The Open Group ArchiMate® standard is an open and independent modeling language for enterprise architecture, supported by different tool vendors and consulting firms. Just as an architectural drawing for a building architecture describes the various aspects of the construction and use of a building, the ArchiMate Specification, a Standard of The Open Group, defines a common language for describing the construction and operation of business processes, organizational structures, information flows, IT systems, and technical infrastructure. This insight helps stakeholders to design, assess, and communicate the consequences of decisions and changes within and between these business domains Within any given company, various domain architectures can be found such as organization, business process, application, information, and technical architectures. Each architecture domain has its own concepts for the modeling and visualization of its internal coherence. These specific models and visualizations simplify communication, discussion, and analysis within the domain. Certifications include ArchiMate Foundation and ArchiMate Practitioner